Squash Blossom Tacos

One of the best taco’s I’ve ever eaten in my life was on a trip to Puebla (a city near Mexico City famous for its food) with my daughter a couple of years ago. A very simple recipe: cheese and fresh squash blossoms put into a simple soft tortilla and grilled lightly until the cheese melts. Then garnish with chopped onions, cilantro and salsa. Delicious.

Two or three times a year I find one or two old women outside my local Mercado selling bunches of freshly cut squash blossoms. They are so inexpensive that I’ll buy them once or twice a week while they are in season.

WP_20170513_16_54_22_Rich (2)
Rinsed squash blossoms drying on my counter top.

But I confess that I don’t do tortillas at home so I’ve had to find another way to work them into a tasty meal. Again, a simple recipe: reduce chopped tomatoes in red wine, garlic and seasoned with a little bay leaf and some hot chilies. Add previously cooked linguini, a thin layer of farmer’s cheese, and the squash blossoms at the last minute. Reduce the heat, cover and cook until the cheese melts.

Delicious.

Leave a Reply

