Sayula Knife and Comal

So my last post – Stuff I like – talked about my new kitchen blade that was made in the famous knifemaking town of Sayula, Jalisco.

wp_20170216_12_45_46_rich

The knife is partially hidden behind my mostly new molcajete. That’s the big mortar and pestle thing sitting in the forefront of the photo.

The flat pan off to the left is called a comal which is essentially a simple iron griddle for charring garlic, chilies, and tomatoes to impart a a slightly burnt sweetness in the making of of certain salsas.

Scale is difficult to gauge from this photo but the plate of the comal is 17″ long by 8″ wide and the molcajete is 9″ in diameter. So that kind of gives you an idea of how big my new knife/cleaver is.

These are the basic and most primitive tools used here in Mexico to make many salsas.

The comal is never oiled or greased; if so that would promote frying and inhibit charring.

So today I used all three of my new tools to make a liter or so of salsa. I forgot to buy limes so I used apple cider vinegar instead.

I prefer an equal measure of lime juice to apple cider vinegar but we’ll see what happens.

PS – The small orange thing in upper center of the photo is a small piece of amber I picked up when Sarah and I went to Chiapas last April. I consider it my only essential piece of art. I say that because when the sun’s rays hit it directly, which it does twice a day, it is the one object in all my meager worldly possessions that is exceedingly sufficient in its vigilance to serve as an honest reminder that true beauty is both resplendent and demure.

Leave a Reply

