More Thoughts on Words

Language has lost precision over the the last twenty/thirty years. Laziness? Probably. Texting is the most obvious suspect but there there are many other cultural thieves.

I recently saw the word ameliorate in a piece of nonfiction I was reading. I think it is an interesting word because it doesn’t enter common speech on a frequent basis (if at all).

Another interesting word that my friend, Max just introduced me to is syncretism. I had never heard that word before. I was familiar with the concept, example – The Last Supper painting hanging in a Cuzco, Peru cathedral where the featured dish was Cuy – but I didn’t know there was a word for it.

Leave a Reply

