Sauza Hornitos Reposado

I normally shy away from the reposados. My Mexican compadre aficionados have made me distrustful of the introduction of foreign flavor vectors of any kind, imparted by oak or any other means to rest or age a tequila.

But my cantina owning friend, Pancho pointed me this afternoon to a couple of old style tequilas (old style, meaning done by the old houses using the old distillation practices) which included this Sauza Hornitos Reposado.

sauza-hornitos

And I have to say that I am very impressed with this tequila. It has a nice smooth naturally agave fruitiness to it that adds a necessary dimension to the otherwise quite pleasant backthroat tequila alcohol kick.

At 245 pesos for a 1 liter bottle – or about $12 USD – it is a fine value and is a tequila that I would not be embarrassed to take to any party.

It is certainly a tequila to drink neat. Chase it with a good cold lager or drink it Guadalajara style chased with an equal measure of sangrita (‘little blood’: tomato juice, fresh squeezed lime, and a few generous shots of a good red hot sauce).

All in all it has a very lovely flavor and I highly recommend that you try it.

 

Leave a Reply

