Book II – Part 2

I finally finished the first draft. It’s still a little rough but I think most of the critical pieces are there.

I am grateful to have finally found my way to the end of this story. And it was Sarah’s excellent advice to add a romantic element that helped me discover the way through.

And I left Book II ‘hanging’ to pave the way for the final piece of the story -Book III.

When I set out writing my first novel I always intended to write a trilogy. I think there is something very interesting about reading (or creating) a book series. Think: Ian Fleming, John D. McDonald, Sue Grafton, Tolkien, Clive Cussler, J.K. Rowling, and Stieg Larsson to name a few.

Readers really seem to connect with series. And I think picking up the second, or third or fourth book in a series is for the reader like reconnecting with old friends.

And writing a series feels equally rewarding for pretty much the same reason.

And there is an added benefit for the writer in that he/she is creating and living in a world of one’s own choosing. And correspondingly I found that writing this second book was a very comforting experience.

PS – I am rereading ‘Literary Outlaw: The Life and Times of William S. Burroughs’ and in it the biographer, Ted Morgan says, ‘Strange as it may seem, Burroughs was a moralist, and his need to write is what makes him one of the true originals in American literature. He didn’t write to amuse, or to instruct, or to enthrall. He wrote to stay alive.’

Leave a Reply

